Press Room


Share this Post

The fourth and final race of the year for the Texas Sprint Racing Series (TSRS) by MG Tires was held on October 22 & 23 at North Texas Karters in Denton, Texas. This 0.5 mile track offers some of the best racing to be had anywhere. TSRS had a total entry of 54 racers in both the Energy Kart USA 2 stroke and Alan Rudolph Racing Academy 4 stroke classes for the final event of the year. TSRS is working on the 2017 schedule for release in January of 2017.

The Alan Rudolph Racing Academy / SpeedSportz 4 Stroke Series did not fail to bring great racing action. The World Formula class sponsored by Trailer Alarms again provided one of the best shows of the weekend with close battles for all but first. Robby Mott (Ribtect / Rpm RaceKarts / Margay) took the pole in qualifying and never looked back as he scored the victory in both heats and the main. WF Points leader Shawn Ross (DR Kart Tork) qualified third and the 2015 TSRS WF Champion Jerry Rhodes (Rpm RaceKarts / Energy Kart) qualified second. Rhodes and Ross chased Mott and each other all weekend. In the main event Ross was able to take the second position with Rhodes finishing third. Patrick Roth (Rpm / CRG) finished fourth in the main event but was plagued with a rib injury all weekend. BJ Hodge (Rpm / CRG) finished fifth. The TSRS by MG Tires 2016 World Formula Championship was won by Shawn Ross (DR Kart). Robby Mott (Margay) placed second and Patrick Roth (CRG) earned a solid third place finish for the year.

The LO206 Light Senior Class sponsored by 1 Fast Auto Transport had very tough competition during the entire weekend with both hometown racers and out of town racers fighting for the top positions. The LO206 Light qualifying was close with HCKC racer Nathan Wilkins (Intrepid) taking the pole, with Miguel Mier (Core / FA Kart) second and Garret Ramirez (Alpha Kart) third. The series points leader Barry Peel qualified fifth, but maneuvered his way to the lead in heat one and took the win in both heat races and the main. Peel’s dominant performance gave him the race win for the weekend. Landon Bednarz was able to finish second and Oklahoma’s Steven Hefley finished third due to a late race incident involving Garret Ramirez and Dale Ross, who were both strong front runners all weekend. The TSRS by MG Tires 2016 LO206 Light Championship was won by Barry Peel (Alpha Karts). Steven Hefley (Praga) took second and Texas Karts own Tommy Muth (Intrepid) finished third.

The Waco LO206 Heavy had many battles throughout the weekend. Paul Gonzalez (Intrepid), Chris Crosley (Intrepid), Tommy Sutton, Marvin Lee and new comer Brian Luyster (Righetti) all fought hard each and every time they were on the track. In the end, Chris Crosley finished first, Brian Luyster took second and Paul Gonzalez took third for the final event of the year. The TSRS by MG tires 2016 LO206 Heavy Championship was won by Chris Crosley (Intrepid). Second place went to Marvin Lee and third place went to Paul Gonzalez (Intrepid).

The LO206 Cadet class sponsored by LiMi Makeup provided great driving by young drivers for the entire year. The final championship battle was decided at Race 3 in Katy Texas. Jerry Rhodes (Rpm RaceKarts/CRG) took home the 2016 TSRS by MG Tires Series Championship. Second place went to Austin Roy (Rpm RaceKarts/CRG).

The Energy Kart USA 2 Stroke Series was filled with close racing and non-stop action throughout the weekend. The Texas Karts Tag Cadet class was very busy with lots of great racing all weekend by these young drivers. Alex Stanfield (Core Karting / Energy Kart) took the pole and heat one win. Caiden Mitchell was not to be denied and took the win in heat two and the main. Stanfield finished a close second, with Noah Baker running third and Aden Rudolph fourth in the main. Adrian Cruz also made his presence known throughout the weekend. This is one of the most exciting classes to watch and race in. The TSRS by MG tires 2016 TAG Cadet Series Championship was won by Alex Stanfield (Core / Energy Kart). Second place went to Caiden Mitchell, and third place went to Ethan Foxworth.

The Wilson Fire Equipment Tag Junior racing was very close and these young men showed excellent race craft all weekend. Race 3 winner Ethan Arndt (CompKart/Trackside Karting Services) was able to pull off the win in the main event after struggling a bit in the heat races. Maxwell Waithman (Tony / Iron Rock Motorsports) took the pole and ran second all weekend. Tyler Orum had two heat race wins and would finish third in the main. John Berry (Alpha Karts) finished fourth. The TSRS by MG tires 2016 TAG Junior Series Championship was won by Tyler Orum. Second place went to John Berry (Alpha Karts), and third place went to Morgan Bain.

The Alpha Karts & JB Motorsports Tag Light Class enjoyed some hard fought and epic battles in Race 4. Ryan Rush (Alpha Karts) was fast all weekend and fought hard with Bryce Lytle (Compkart), Miguel Mier (Core / FA Kart) and Doug Foxworth all weekend. In the end Rush would cross the line first followed by Lytle, Foxworth and Mier. Rush was issued a two position driving penalty after the main. Bryce Lytle was declared the winner and his driving proved he deserved the spot. Dough Foxworth finished second and Ryan Rush was third. Mier ran a very close fourth and showed his move to Tag Light was a good one. The TSRS by MG tires 2016 TAG Light Series Championship was won by Marcellas Dukes (Tony Kart), second place went to Ryan Rush (Alpha Karts) and third place went to Bryce Lytle (CompKart).

The TSRS by MG tires 2016 TAG Heavy Series Championship was won by Brian Benedict (Tyca Racing / CRG). No second or third place awards were given due to lack of minimum entries for the year.

The Core Karting Shifter Light class was very exciting all weekend. Blair Hosie (Alpha Karts) took the pole and heat one win with Andretta Young (CRG Nordam / Rpm Racekarts) second and Colin Long (Sodi Kart) third. In heat two and the main, Blair Hosie would develop mechanical problems. Young took the win in heat 2 followed by Long. In the main event, Colin Long took the early lead and never looked back with Young running second and Liam Snyder finishing third.

In Shifter Heavy, the weekend would be owned by Rod Clinard (CRG Nordam). Clinard set times within a couple of hundredths of the Shifter Lights. Clinard would finish third in the field and a dominating first in the class. Venkat Reddy (CRG) took home second place for the weekend, and Nathan Stewart was third. The TSRS by MG tires 2016 Shifter Light Series Championship was won by Randall Burnett. Second place overall went to Carson Mueller (CRG), and third place went to Mark Snyder (Core / FA Kart).

The Texas Sprint Race Series had an exciting year of racing and would like to thank the following 2016 primary and awards sponsors for supporting them this year: WR International / MG Tires, Energy Karts USA, SpeedSportz & Alan Rudolph Racing Academy, Briggs & Stratton Racing, RLV, Trailer Alarms, Fastech Racing, Ribtect, Darcy DeCoste Racing, SRS, LoneStar GrandPrix, Core Karting & Rpm RaceKarts.

Additional 2016 Series Supporting and Class Sponsors they would like to thank include: CRG Nordam, Briggs & Stratton Racing, Honda(HPD), DR Karts, NEK Seats, K1 Speed, Zija, VP Racing Fuel, Trackside Karting Services, LiMi Makeup, Hill Country Kart Club, Heart of Texas Kart Club, Gulf Coast Karters, North Texas Karters, Wilson Fire Equipment, Texas Karts, Alpha Karts, JB Motorsports, Shofner Films, Rob Miller, Vince Roy, Beta Tools, Scotts Racing Engines, RaceTech Development & all the racers that participated this year.

Scroll to Top