Press Room


Share this Post

With back-to-back races of more than 35 drivers, Radical Cup North America heads to ‘The Dairy State’ this weekend to take on the 14-turn, 4.048-mile Road America, supporting INDYCAR’s XPEL Grand Prix presented by AMR. With 36 drivers on the entry list, including a staggering 15 competitors in the Pro 1340 category, championship battles begin to take shape as the series reaches the mid-season point.

“Last year, Road America was one of our most exciting events with close finishes, a ton of on-track passes, and some spectacular racing,” explained Tom Drewer. “And with increased competition in all three classes this year, Radical Cup will provide the INDYCAR fans with even more to cheer about.”

The Pro 1340 class is 15 drivers strong, with seven of them coming with the Team Championship leading Crown with APEX camp. Multi-time winner Chris McMurry will lead the team into Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, with the father and son duo of Blake and Keith McGovern who showed a ton of speed at Barber Motorsports Park. Evan Wolf and Mike Ellis will also fly the CROWN with the APEX flag and Jace Bacon joins his father Seth, pulling double-duty this weekend in USF2000. Not to be outdone, RYNO with Team Stradale brings six to Road America, including a bunch of new names to the Radical Cup North America program. Benjamin Blander will pilot the #34 entry as he will race alongside Alon Kim, father and son Mike D’Ambrose Jr. and Sr., as well as Adam Gagne. Making a move to the Graham Rahal Performance program, 2024 podium winner Suellio Almedia will join Kenny Naill in the new Indianapolis-based effort, while Mayer Deonarine will pilot the lone RySpec Racing entry in Pro 1340.

The ultra-competitive Pro 1500 class will feature a ton of young talent, including Jordan Missig and Nicholas d’Orlando in the multi-time race-winning Graham Rahal Performance outfit. Cameron Racing will bring a trio of Pro 1500 competitors, including the young Spencer Schmidt, son of NTT INDYCAR SERIES Team Owner Sam Schmidt, Arul Venkatesh, and Corey Neveau. Evan Slater, who impressed at Barber Motorsports Park, will fly the EVR Motorsports colors, while Austin Riley will be another to look out for in the 13 strong field. Group-A Racing will be back looking to add to their results resume with Jack Zweifel and Jack Yang, the latter who will compete in the Gold category. Mike Anzaldi (RYNO with Team Stradale), Richard Durocher (EVR Motorsports), and David Flynt (Apex Motorsports South) will join Zweifel in the Gold class.

At the pointy end of the field with the 425bhp Radical SR10 machinery will be the Platinum class. Entering the event, the Field duo of Jon and Clint racing out of the ONE Motorsports camp will look to keep their winning momentum going, while teammate and multiple SCCA Runoffs winner Chip Romer looks for his breakthrough win. EVR Motorsports will enter a trio of drivers, including the always competitive Wisconsinite Louis Schriber, along with Jim Booth and Gregg Gorski. ESSES Racing, CROWN with APEX, and G-Tech Motorsports will enter one driver each in Wayne Williams, Jason Plotke, and Jason Greenwood to bring the total car count to 36 for the weekend.

Drewer added, “Wisconsin marks a busy month for the Radical Cup, with teams immediately heading to Laguna Seca for Round 4 with INDYCAR June 21-23, and then it’s just the Streets of Toronto and Sonoma, but with three races on each weekend, there’s a lot of points up for grabs, and a lot of time for drivers to bounce back in the championship.”

Be sure to follow the Radical Cup North America social media pages for news, information, photos, and results from the event weekend. All three races will be livestreamed from Road America. Stay tuned for links on Radical’s social media channels.

Weekend Quick Links
Entry List – HERE
Weekend Schedule – HERE

Radical Cup North America events are open to local and regional Radical racers of all ages with eligible cars to participate. More information, including links to register for events and obtain licensing, can be found at Stay tuned to the Radical Cup social media pages for the latest series news and updates.

Photo Credit: RTD Media

Scroll to Top