Press Room


Share this Post

The 2024 Radical Cup North America season saw the first green flag of the season today at the famed Sebring International Raceway. With two wheel-to-wheel races on the day, the only qualifying session kicked off a jam-packed daily activity in Central Florida. As the racing commenced, it was Jon and Clint Field who found their way to the top step of the podium in the Platinum Class while Jordan Missig provided Graham Rahal Performance with their first two wins of the season. Chris McMurry continued his Pro 1340 domination going two-for-two on the day while 14-year-old Mayer Deonarine impressed all.

“The level of competition continues to climb year after year and age does not seem to be a defining factor,” Radical Cup Director Tom Drewer explained. “We have some very clean racing despite the number of rookies who have joined the series in 2024. It is exciting to see the growth, and we can’t wait for the rest of the season.”

The day started with the McDonald’s Pole Position Awards. Lapping the Sebring International Raceway with the fastest laps in the early morning session, Jon Field and ONE Motorsports claimed top honors in the Platinum class while Graham Rahal Performance’s Nick d’Orlando followed suit in Pro 1500 with Chris McMurry putting Crown Racing with Apex on top in Pro 1340.


  1. Jon Field – 2:01.671
  2. Clint Field – 2:02.315
  3. Louis Schriber – 2:02.940

Race #1
It was a driver with the last name of Field who won race one, but not the pole position winner Jon Field (ONE Motorsports). Advancing from his P2 starting spot, Clint Field (ONE Motorsports) beat his dad and took the win as the checkered flag flew under yellow conditions for a crash involving a Pro 1500 driver. Impressive despite his lack of experience, Clint proved that he is a title contender. With a pair of Fields on the top two steps of the podium, it was Louis Schriber (WISKO Racing) who rounded out the blocks in third after recovering from a testing crash last week that heavily damaged his race car. Dirt Racer turned pavement driver Wayne Williams (ESSES Racing), who had a turbo issue during Friday’s on-track action, added a top-five finish as he started his second year of competition in Radical Cup with Platinum class rookie Gregg Gorski (WISKO Racing) finishing fifth.

Race #2
Jon Field got the better of Clint Field in race two as he was able to move from the outside of the front row in the second starting position to climb his way to the top of the podium. It was another Field and Field one – two finish as Clint Field crossed the line in the second position, albeit more than 13 seconds behind Jon. Chip Romer had a great race going until a late race spin took him off of what would have been his first podium of the season and opened the door for Gorski to cross the line in third. Romer rebounded to finish fifth while Schriber was also able to get by following Gorski through to finish fourth. Jim Booth (WISKO Racing) and Kevin Poitras (Radical Canada East) also gained positions throughout the 18-lap affair to finish sixth and seventh respectively.

PRO 1500

  1. Nick d’Orlando – 2:06.467
  2. Danny Dyszelski – 2:06.973
  3. Jordan Missig – 2:07.119

Race #1
The top three finishers in the Pro 1500 class in race one were Radical XXX machinery with Jordan Missig (GRP) taking his first win in 2024 Radical Cup competition for both himself and Graham Rahal Performance (GRP). 2023 Vice-Champion Danny Dyszelski (RySpec Racing) was able to push himself to a podium result in his first event with a new team crossing the line in third just behind Nick d’Orlando (GRP) in the second position, making it a near-perfect debut for the GRP program. It should be noted that all drivers are under the age of 25 and have all come from events in the popular Road to Indy program. Evan Slater, racing out of the WISKO Racing camp, had an impressive drive to fourth despite little time running the car and the only Pro 1500 driver in the WIKSO Racing program in Sebring. Spencer Schmidt, son of McLaren INDYCAR Team Owner Sam Schmidt, also showed the speed to run near the front finishing fifth in his series debut with Stephen Cameron Racing and Radical Northwest just ahead of Matt Romer (ONE Motorsports). Jack Yang (Group-A Racing) had a solid qualifying performance and showed substantial pace in the race before crashing out on the last lap of the race.

Race #2
It was Jordan Missig who provided GRP their second win of the weekend but the story of the race was young Nick d’Orlando who had to come from the tail of the field but found himself on the podium in race two. After a first-lap incident, a pit stop to change a cut tire, and a few caution periods, d’Orlando sliced his way through the field to finish third. It was Dyszelski who pushed Missig to the end of the 18-lap race falling just short, but still on the podium in second ahead of d’Orlando as Missig and Dyszelski had an epic race-long battle going back and forth on several occasions. Evan Slater nabbed his second fourth-place result in as many races with Canadian and Racing With Autism’s Austin Riley rebounding from a difficult race one to finish fifth in race two after challenging for a podium result early on. With the Pro 1500 class stacked with competition, Matt Romer, Schmidt, Mike Anzaldi (RYNO with Team Stradale), Drew Altman (RySpec Racing), and Jack Yang all finished in the top-ten and will look to improve on their race three results tomorrow. Drew Altman was the Sunoco Hard Charger of the race for race two.

PRO 1340

  1. Chris McMurry – 2:11.198
  2. Mayer Deonarine – 2:11.633
  3. Seth Bacon – 2:11.697

Race #1
It was a Crown Racing with Apex domination in the Pro 1340 category as Chris McMurry led a one-two finish for the team, just ahead of Seth Bacon in second. 14-year-old Mayer Deonarine (RySpec Racing) became the youngest-ever podium winner in Radical Cup North America history standing on the third step. Suellio Almeida (RySpec Racing) earned a top-five result in his Radical debut, outpacing Ben Blander (RYNO with Team Stradale) who crossed the line in the fifth position and was the Sunoco Hard Charger of the Race in race one.

Race #2
Chris McMurry was in a league of his own in the Pro 1340 class as he handily drove to his second win in as many races. Lapping more than a second a lap faster than his fellow 1340 competitors, McMurry passed and outraced a handful of the faster Pro 1500 cars in the 18 laps that were offered. Behind him, it was his Crown Racing with Apex teammate Seth Bacon who finished second and 14-year-old Mayer Deonarine in third as the top-three remained unchanged from race one to race two. A good effort came from Suellio Almeida who ran in second for a good chunk of the race before getting caught up by Bacon and Mayer and eventually fell to finish seventh in class behind Ben Blander, Brad Sutika (G-Tech Motorsports), and Douglas George (RySpec Racing).

Teams and competitors will return tomorrow for the third and final race of the weekend at 10:40am EDT.

Weekend Quick Links:
Entry List – HERE
Live Stream – HERE

Radical Cup North America events are open to local and regional Radical racers of all ages with eligible cars to participate. More information, including links to register for events and obtain licensing, can be found at Stay tuned to the Radical Cup social media pages for the latest series news and updates.

Photo Credit: RTD Media

Scroll to Top